Previous Engines


An evolution of the Nissan SR engine road car engine tuned for the Supertouring regulations, it was used by Ray Mallock, Ltd. in the works Nissan Primera in the British Touring Car Championship from 1997 to 1999, taking the manufacturers titles in 1998 and 1999, along with the 1999 British Touring Car Championship driver’s title with Laurent Aïello. The engine was also used in the Crawford Racing Nissans in the Swedish Touring Car Championship, winning the title in 2000 with Tommy Rustad. With the demise of Supertouring, the AER-tuned SR20 was used in the World Series Light, a junior division to the Nissan World Series.


Created in 2000, the P03 was AER’s first clean sheet engine and was developed for MG/ Rover for their Le Mans racing efforts. When MG backed away from their Le Mans effort after a year, AER took the engine and developed it into a customer engine, the P07. The P07 was a 2.0 liter inline-4 with a single Garrett turbocharger, producing over 500 HP initially and 550 HP by 2003. The engine ran strongly through 2007 in the American Le Mans Series and Le Mans Series, as well as the 24 Hours of Le Mans, in the LMP2 class. In 2003, Dyson Racing took the American Le Mans Series LMP2 manufacturer, team and driver’s (Chris Dyson) championships with their AER-powered Lola EX257.


The AER P14 is a V6 engine developed from a production Nissan VQ30 engine. The P14 was homologated for use in sports cars in the SR2 category of the FIA Sportscar Championship. Engines in this series were required to be a maximum of 3.0 liters and based on production units. A fully stressed version was also used for the World Series by Nissan.


The AER P25 3.4 liter V6 is based on the production Nissan VQ35 engine as was found in the Nissan 350Z. Developed from the P14, it was extensively re-engineered, originally for use in the Nissan World Series. The changes include a bespoke dry sump conversion, pistons, connecting rods, crankshaft, camshafts and valve gear. The P25 was used in single seat and sports car applications with power output to 500 HP.


Launched in 2006, the P32T moved AER to move to the top of Le Mans Prototype racing. The P32T V8 engine was a bespoke AER design for LMP1 racing and was a 75 degree twin- turbo V8 originally built as a 3.6 liter in 2006 and 2007 and upgraded to 4.0 liters in 2008. Two Garrett turbochargers helped the engine put out more than 650 HP. A naturally aspirated variant, the P32, was designed with a range of 3.4 – 4.2 liters with the 3.4 liter designed for the 2011 LMP1 rules package. The P32T engine project sprang from a conversation Dyson Racing had with AER and during its first season was reliable and quick, winning numerous pole positions. It ran in LMP1 cars competing at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the European Le Mans Series and American Le Mans Series. The engine was designed to take on Audi’s 3.6 liter twin turbo LMP1 engine and its clean sheet design set new standards for size and weight using Formula One technology and weighed only 114 kg. Dyson Racing in America and Chamberlain Engineering in Europe initially used the P32T in 2006, while in 2007 Courage Compétition became a customer and Team Cytosport ran Dyson’s former AER-powered prototype in 2007. In 2008, Intersport Racing ran the engine in their American Le Mans Series LMP1 entries and in 2009 and 2010, both Intersport Racing and Autocon ran the AER engine in ALMS LMP1


The P41 was developed in conjunction with Mazdaspeed for use in LMP2. An in-line four- cylinder single-turbocharged 2.0 liter, the MZR-R was debuted by B-K Motorsports in the American Le Mans Series at the 2007 12 Hours of Sebring, and B-K ran it through 2008. Dyson Racing took up the Mazda flag in 2009. The four-cylinder P41 was based on the structure of AER’s 3.6 liter twin-turbo P32T V8 engine.